I’m a huge gamer and often get absorbed into the stories of many different games. I’m going to give a prediction on who I want to win (My Vote) and who I think will win (My Prediction), from the jury selected nominees of 18 different categories plus an additional category for Most Anticipated Game. I’m only going to cover those I have experience in playing instead of making a guess on something I have never experienced or lack the knowledge for (they will be numbered accordingly).

Thanks to Zack Burrows over at Sight-In-Games, he gave me the idea after viewing his post, to do a prediction blog. I agree with some of his choices, but disagree on others, like every gamer should do, is have an opinion on the games based off of our desired tastes.

Jury Selected 18 Categories

1. Game of the Year: Recognizing a game that delivers that absolute best experience across all creative and technical fields

Doom – id Software/Bethesda
Inside – PlayDead
Overwatch – Blizzard Entertainment
Titalfall 2 – Respawn/Electronic Arts
Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End – Naughty Dog

My Vote:  Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
My Prediction:  Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

2. Best Studio/Game Direction: Recognizing a game studio for outstanding creative vision and innovation in game direction and design

Blizzard for Overwatch
DICE for Battlefield 1
id Software for DOOM
Naughty Dog for Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
Respawn for Titanfall 2

My Vote:  DICE for Battlefield 1. I think it was brave shying away from the futuristic-styled combat the way the Call of Duty franchise and Titanfall franchise are going currently.
My Prediction: Overwatch

3. Best Narrative – For outstanding storytelling and narrative development in a game

Firewatch – Campo Santo
Inside – PlayDead
Mafia III – Hangar 13/2k
Oxenfree – Night School Studio
Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End – Naughty Dog

My Vote: Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, though I haven’t played Mafia III yet because I won’t play it until Christmas, probably will blog about it later.
My Prediction: Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

4. Best Art Direction – For outstanding creative and technical achievement in artistic design and animation

ABZU – Giant Squid/505
Firewatch – Campo Santo
Inside – PlayDead
Overwatch – Blizzard
Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End – Naughty Dog

My Vote: Firewatch – Campo Santo
My Prediction: Overwatch – Blizzard

5. Best Music/Sound Design – For outstanding audio, inclusive of score, licensed soundtrack, and sound design

Battlefield 1 – DICE
DOOM – id Software/Bethesda
Inside – PlayDead
Rez Infinite – Enhance Games
Thumper – Drool

My Vote: DOOM – id Software/Bethesda
My Prediction: Inside – PlayDead

6. Best Performance – Award to an individual for voice-over acting, motion and/or performance capture

Alex Hernandez as Lincoln Clay, Mafia III
Cissy Jones as Delilah, Firewatch
Emily Rose as Elena, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
Nolan North as Nathan Drake, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
Rich Sommer as Henry, Firewatch
Troy Baker as Sam Drake, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

My Vote: Cissy Jones as Delilah, Firewatch
My Prediction: Cissy Jones as Delilah, Firewatch

7. Games for Impact Award – For a thought provoking game with a profound pro-social meaning or message

1979 Revolution – iNK Stories
BLOCK’HOOD – Plethora Project/Devolver Digital
Orwell – Osmotic Studios/Surprise Attack
Sea Hero Quest – Glitchers
That Dragon, Cancer – Numinous Games

My Vote: Orwell – Osmotic Studios/Surprise Attack
My Prediction: Orwell – Osmotic Studios/Surprise Attack

8. Best Independent Game – For outstanding creative and technical achievement in a game made outside the traditional publisher system

Firewatch – Campo Santo
Hyper Light Drifter – Heart Machine
Inside – PlayDead
Starred Valley – ConcernedApe/Chucklefish Games
The Witness – Thelka, Inc.

My Vote: Firewatch – Campo Santo
My Prediction:  Firewatch – Campo Santo

9: Skipping Best Mobile/Handled Game

10: Skipping Best VR Game

11. Best Action Game – For the best games in the action genre focused on combat

Battlefield 1 – DICE
DOOM – id Software/Bethesda
Gears of War 4 – The Coalition/Microsoft Studios
Overwatch – Blizzard
Titanfall 2 – Respawn

My Vote: Overwatch
My Prediction: Overwatch

12. Best Action/Adventure Game – The best action/adventure games, combining combat with traversal and puzzle solving

Dishonored 2 – Arkane Studios/Bethesda Softworks
Hitman – Square-Enix
Hyper Light Drifter – Heart Machine
Ratchet & Clank – Insomniac Games
Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End – Naughty Dog

My Vote: I want to say Ratchet & Clank but Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End has more complex puzzles and adventure gameplay
My Prediction: Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

13. Skipping Best Role Playing Game

14. Skipping Best Fighting Game

15. Best Family Game – Best game appropriate for family play, including toys-to-life, rhythm/music/dance, and other genres

Dragon Quest Builders – Square-Enix
LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens – TT Fusion/WBIE
Pokemon Go – Niantic
Ratchet & Clank – Insomniac Games
Skylanders: Imaginators – Toy For Bob/Activision

My Vote: Ratchet & Clank – Insomniac Games
My Prediction: Skylanders: Imaginators – Toy For Bob/Activision

16. Skipping Best Strategy Game – Probably will be XCOM

17. Best Sports/Racing Game – For traditional and non-traditional sports and racing games

FIFA 17 – EA Sports
Forza Horizon 3 – Playground Games
MLB The Show 16 – SCE San Diego/SIE
NBA 2k17 – 2K Sports
Pro Evolution Soccer 2017 – PES Productions

My Vote: MLB The Show 16 (Not a soccer or NBA fan)
My Prediction: FIFA 17 – EA Sports

18. Best Multiplayer Game – For outstanding online multiplayer gameplay and design, including co-op and massively multiplayer experiences

Battlefield 1 – DICE
Gears of War 4 – The Coalition
Overcooked – Ghost Town Games/Team 17
Overwatch – Blizzard
Rainbow Six Siege – Ubisoft
Titanfall 2 – Respawn

My Vote: Overwatch
My Prediction: Overwatch

19-24 Fan Choice

24. Most Anticipated Game – Recognizing and upcoming game that has shown significant ambition and promise moving the gaming medium forward. Must be announced and scheduled for release after 12/1/16.

God of War – Santa Monica Studio
Horizon: Zero Dawn – Guerilla Games
Mass Effect: Andromeda – Bioware/EA
Red Dead Redemption 2 – Rockstar Games
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – Nintendo

Personally I am excited for Horizon: Zero Dawn but it will be here in early 2017. Red Dead Redemption 2 hasn’t had a date scheduled for it yet, and I was a MASSIVE fan of the first Red Dead game.

I’m excited to watch this years Gaming Award Show and I’ll be LIVE tweeting my thoughts about it @TheAlbumWeb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

