I’m in a lull right now. Like many gamers, I’m waiting for Christmas to get the games I that I didn’t purchase immediately when they came out and have been avoiding any and all news from them because of this. I bought Battlefield 1 and CoD: Infinite Warfare/Modern Warfare Remastered. I’m bored with those games now, it’s outrageous how spoiled we are that with the quality of games that are being pumped out now.

The games I’m getting are Watch Dogs 2, TellTale’s The Walking Dead: A New Frontier, Mafia III, and Rise of the Tomb Raider. I’m pretty amped about them and I’m sure I’ll blog my thoughts on each because I’m a huge TellTale guy, I’m in love with Lara Croft because secretly I wish I was Indiana Jones and she’s basically the female equivalentWatch Dogs 2 reminds me of a mix between Mr. Robot and GTA, and I like the narrative of Mafia III. 

So right now I’m replaying games mostly on my PS4 (NCAA 14 on Xbox 360 and Crash Bandicoot 1-3, Spyro The Dragon 1-3 on PS2). And I will list my favorite games to play based off of replayibility (not a word, but should be dammit).

GTA V 

I haven’t played GTA V in months, many many months. Because the story involves 3 different characters, there are endless possibilities in what you can do, drive, shoot, fly, whatever. Want to play Golf? It’s video game inception; physically playing a video game, while playing golf. I was a huge component for the Tiger Woods PGA Tour games before he fell of the planet, now I can play golf one second, then steal a Lambo avoiding the cops speeding down the highway. It’s the best of both gaming worlds.

Everybody knows what the GTA series usually involves so I’m not going to go into detail about it. Mostly you play as some scumbag or multiple scumbags and you reek havoc upon the crime world. It’s quite interesting if you’re a normal person being able to get an insight (not really but kinda) on what it would be like if you didn’t have a moral code or you were a crazy person (Trevor). This is mostly why Rockstar Games sells millions of copies every game they push out because normal people don’t live this lifestyle, so being able to play a video game like this, is fun. Weird when thinking about it, but it is.

1ohvhtjaayhyy

Just Cause 3

ctainrzlhzhb6

This is a game I mentioned in my Activities to do While Hungover post about how mindless it is. After you beat the game, it’s fun to get up in an attack helicopter and raid rebel cities like the badass Rico is. In case you don’t know what this game is about, you play as Rico Rodriguez, a native of the fictional island Medici, where he returns to fight a rebellion against the military who wishes to take over the world, kind of like that prick Hitler tried to do half a century ago.

Getting behind a noble cause fighting against an evil military with a badass like Rico is the definition of what games strive for. There’s a evil rich asshole who’s killing innocent civilians, taking away their freedom, and mocking them all in the same day? Give me all the weapons and ammo and let’s bring it to this guy!

It’s an open-world adventure game and has a similar feel to the Far Cry games, which I love. You have a wind-suit where I often find myself utilizing more than the planes, helicopters, water and land vehicles. I call it a mindless game AFTER you beat the game. So when you replay it, your not even thinking about the story, you’re just mindlessly recapturing territory. Highly recommend.

Ratchet & Clank

td24uxmveqm3m

Wanna know something insane? I grew up playing Crash Bandicoot and Spyro The Dragon and never once even heard of Ratchet & Clank before. The Internet was relatively knew and it just never got to my brain to google video games. Didn’t see any commercials, nada, zip, nothing. When I got news of a remaster coming for this franchise, I was curious. Looked up everything there was about it. Then bought the game and woaaaahhh boy WHAT A FREAKIN’ GAME!

I platinum (100% Trophies) every game that I love. This is one of them. It’s awesome, Ratchet is wombat, reminds me of Crash Bandicoot, yet he’s smarter, can talk, and has a sidekick in Clank. You travel in your spaceship, planet to planet, while fighting as members of the Elite Galactic Rangers against enemies shooting their alien weapons at you. There are plenty of weapons to upgrade, collectables to find, and challenges to complete.

I wish I knew about this game when I was younger, but I’m glad I got to experience the adventure now, than not at all.

jmjdobucog5he

Infamous: Second Son

bryk5oyqgvsxi

You play as Delsin Rowe, a rebellious punk teen graffiti artist who comes into contact with a conduit (bio-terrorist) and gains powers through him. Conduits are being hunted by the D.U.P. (Department of Unified Protection) and are considered as outcasts to society. You decide what path you want to use your powers for, whether it’s for good or evil, to fight against the D.U.P. and take down their evil leader. See the replay factor in that? Beat the game as a good conduit then replay the story going the evil route. Become Infamous.

I got this game for free when I bought my PS4. It’s similar to Just Cause 3 in it’s open-world concept. You have multiple different powers and abilities depending on what route you decide to play. The Graffiti art is fun to paint, I would actively search for these on the map. It’s fun to get stronger and upgrade your abilities, trust me, get this game if you’ve never played it.

Color Guardians

img_3508

I think I played the free demo for this and loved it so much I bought the whole game for maybe $20. There are 4 unlockable characters to play as: Rad (Red), Lia (Blue), Grock (Yellow) and a secret character named Kroma. The story is very basic, but the challenge is the gameplay and the timing in collecting all of the color orbs. It’s an auto-run game like Sonic and you must tap Square, X, or Triangle depending on the color orb your collecting. Triangle for Yellow, Square for Red, and X for Blue. It can get quite difficult to collect all the orbs in the three different lanes when you play on Expert.

It’s a fun little game that I don’t see getting enough praise. Therefore I’m including it in this because I play it quite often.

There were other games I think I could have included but they were more like the ehhh category rather than a MUST INCLUDE. These were Overwatch, Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, Tembo the Badass Elephant, Far Cry Primal, Until Dawn, and Wolfenstein: The New Order. All GREAT games

Tweet me @TheAlbumWeb on your differing opinions, I know you have them. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

