I was writing a travel blog on places I’d like to visit and ended up going down a long road of epic tangents talking about accents and lingo and decided to make a separate post. So here I am, let’s first cover my home:

Boston

My New York friends say my accent is severe. There are degrees of Boston accents and depending where you grew up, it varies. 

Amy Ryan has one of the best Southie (South Boston) white trash Boston accents ever recorded in modern film history in Gone Baby Gone (2007). Casey Afflack also has a good one. Especially in his SNL skit that was hilarious. There IS a Dunkies EVERYWHERE.


(Source: Saturday Night Live)

The Departed (2006) weighed on thick with the accent but I thought it was subpar. The film was good, the accent was stereotypical. I don’t sound like Amy Ryan’s character, though many people do who grew up in Southie.

I don’t pronounce my R’s at the end of words. I say Watah (water), Beah (Beer), I am cringing typing this, eek.

I once told my Texan friend to grab my water from the Caah. He stopped in his tracks and stared at me; What?

“The car. My water. Grab it.”

Ohhh, I thought you said Caah.

“I did, ugh.”

I also say the word wicked a lot. I don’t say things like, “That’s wicked”. That’s not how you use the word. I had to stay in a hotel with a roommate for an event I was going to and the guy said, “Wicked Pissah” in terms of describing the room. I stopped, looked for any cameras in the room indicating I was on a comedy show and they were pranking me, because nobody says “wicked pissah” EVER. I’m actually getting a little riled up now thinking about it. Was this guy serious? I was offended that people actually say that, it was a bizarre sequence. That guy was from the North Shore of Massachusetts so if you’re also from the North Shore, let me know that this was an anomaly.

“That’s wicked cool. That’s wicked funny. That’s wicked lame.” That’s how you use the word wicked. I describe wicked to my friends as: A Boston thing, like how you use really, very, and fucking.

“That’s really cool. That’s very funny. That’s fucking lame.”

Southern Belle’s

My brother went to Clemson, a college (University) in the South. Not deep Alabama South, but South Carolina South. If you’re from another country reading this, your head is probably exploding trying to grasp this. Basically the same aspect with the degrees of Boston accents, but in the South. A lot of the college girls were self-proclaimed Southern Belle’s and their accents were cute. The Southern drawl at the end of a word is something that’ll turn my head. Cute Boston girl or cute Southern Belle at the bar? I like culture, I like accents, accents that aren’t my own.

The Brits

I’ve noticed a lot of the bloggers I interact with are from London or somewhere in the UK. I’ve also noticed three different accents. One is adorable. The other sounds proper. The third sounds like the entire Sherlock Holmes movies. This is what I’ve gathered from my horrendously lack of research on this topic. 

The Brits from Godisageek  are cool, their accents aren’t adorable, mostly because they are men. I imagine getting all the bloggers together for a meet and greet would be awesome, though we would all be very confused, with the slang and lingo. Did you just call that guy a squid?

Every actor and actress who has an English accent I immediately think they are elegant. Not knowing anything about them, just by the way they speak. Imagine having that in your back pocket? All you have to do is talk and Matt thinks you’re elegant.

ny2xjndltpqta
Score: 1 Brits, everybody else but the next accent 0.

Also if someone said my accent was adorable I would think they should be placed in an insane asylum. Boston accents aren’t adorable. They’re atrocious.

Australians (Aussies?)


(Source: Vanity Fair)

Of all the accents on planet Earth, Australian accents are my favorite. Because I have an obsession with Margot Robbie, an Australian actress, wait if you don’t know who Margot Robbie is watch About Time (2013) or The Wolf of Wallstreet (2013) immediately.

Margot Robbie could literally say anything and because of her accent and beauty, I’m in awe. All the women reading this are probably muttering to yourselves of how stupid and idiotic that is for me to say that, but I’m a simpleton, you guys should know this by now.

Find somebody who will call you mate the way Margot Robbie calls you mate.

Protip: To avoid immediate eyeroll, if you meet someone from Boston, DO NOT SAY: Park my car in Harvard Yard, with a Mark Wahlberg-esque imitation, it’s cringeworthy. My friends mom said it to me and I died standing there. I was a dead person. Death by word association.

Tweet me @TheAlbumWeb your slang with witty GIF. 

