No shit there I was…moving from my home country as a teenager and sailing to America, the greatest country on Earth, with my family and zoo animals. Like most teenagers at the time, I was adventurous and a bit naive. During a storm our ship got hit by a massive wave capsizing it and I was forced to share a lifeboat with a Bengal Tiger named Richard Parker, an orangoutang named Orange Juice, a spotted hyena and a zebra. At first it was difficult to co-exist.  I respected Richard Parker, mostly because he’s a savage and would eat me whole, so I kept my distance on a mini raft next to the lifeboat. Richard Parker taught me more about the beauty of life and relationships than any human could…

Not only is that story about me not true, it’s the plot for the film Life of Pi (2012). What’d you want me to say? No shit there I was, getting pizza grease onto my laptop as I slam Iced Tea while listening to a podcast detailing what year is the best year in film history. Where’s the excitement and thrill in that story?

So I’m sitting here listening to Power Athlete Radio, a podcast focusing on strength and conditioning, but includes cool and interesting stories from John Welbourn, a former NFL Offensive lineman. It’s really funny and informative. A no-bullshit podcast that has elite guests who tell it like it is. On episode 192, John and the guys discuss what year was the best in film history solely based off of the caliber of movies released.

The two years discussed were 1985 and 1994.

The Breakdown:

1985

perhgwb451awg

-Commando
-Back to the Future
-The Breakfast Club
-The Goonies
-Rambo: First Blood Part II
-Silverado
-Witness
-Vision Quest
-Spies Like Us
-Pale Rider
-The Color Purple
-Peewee’s Big Adventure
-Weird Science
-Mad Max Beyond the Thunderdome
-Fletch
-National Lampoon’s European Vacation
-The Last Dragon
-Police Academy 2
-The Man With One Red Shoe
-Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins
-Real Genius
-Out of Africa

Yes now you understand why 1985 was chosen. You can’t pick one year because you like a few movies that came out then. They need to be juggernauts like Back to the Future, The Goonies, Vision Quest, Silverado.


Out of Africa 
won Best Picture this year.

Update: Forgot The Sure Thing and Rocky IV

1994

source

-Shawshank Redemption
-Pulp Fiction
-Forrest Gump
-The Lion King
-True Lies
-Natural Born Killers
-The Mask
-Billy Madison
-Dumb and Dumber
-D2 Mighty Ducks
-Legends of the Fall
-Ace Ventura: Pet Detective
-Major League II
-Stargate
-The Crow
-Speed
-Clerks
-Timecop
-Hoop Dreams
-The Little Rascals
-Wyatt Earp
-Angels in the Outfield

Best Picture: Forrest Gump

I give the edge to 1985, but wow, what a year in movies. I’ve also went down the Internet rabbit hole and have been looking at other years and found some good ones.

Update: Léon: The Professional 8.6/10 on IMDb and on my watchlist. This hurts 1985 

1984

WOLVERINES!!!
4pkveomr1lnp2

-Red Dawn
-The Terminator
-Ghostbusters
-Gremlins
-A Nightmare on Elm Street
-Indiana Jones Temple of Doom
-Beverly Hills Cop
-The Karate Kid
-Police Academy
-Romancing the Stone
-Footloose
-Purple Rain
-Conan the Destroyer
-The Natural
-Tight Rope
-Splash
-Sixteen Candles

Best Picture: Amadeus

Imagine watching the Oscars during these years? Absolutely outrageous the caliber of films being released within the same year. 2004 might be the closest next to 1994 with the best caliber of films. Red Dawn, The Terminator, Ghostbusters and The Karate Kid all came out the same year. That’s absurd!

If you were to tell me the remake of Red Dawn was a good movie, I’d disconnect from our relationship immediately. Your opinions of movies would cease and desist. I hate watched it because I wanted to make sure that whoever thought that was a good idea, was in fact a moron. I was correct. You can’t remake a classic like that. That’s like trying to remake Jaws today. I’m not, and the world isn’t having any of that shenanigans.

I also heard a rumor, that Big Trouble in Little China might get a remake. And if this is true, I want this to happen to all those who are responsible:

ltaxsg7eknjhy

2004
lektrcgya90qm

-Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
-Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story
-Polar Express
-I, Robot
-Oceans Twelve
-Friday Night Lights
-National Treasure
-Collateral
-Troy
-Saw
-The Day After Tomorrow
-Mean Girls
-Shrek 2
-Resident Evil: Apocalypse
-Shaun of the Dead
-The Notebook
-The Aviator
-The Bourne Supremacy
-Dawn of the Dead
-Spider-Man 2
-Kill Bill Vol. 2
-Million Dollar Baby
-Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
-Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
-The Incredibles
-Alien vs. Predator
-The Manchurian Candidate
-Along Came Polly

Best Picture: Million Dollar Baby

I’m finding myself flashback to all the times in my life and remembering where I first saw all these movies. It’s pretty cool. I believe 1985 is the best year in movie history. However, how is that even possible to have Dodgeball and Anchorman released in the same year? I quoted both of these movies into oblivion, I imagine you did too. I still do if I might add. F’in A Cotton, F’in A!

65os7odbiw6pa

Let me known if you agree with me or think another year is better and more elite than 1985. I won’t be surprised if 1993 or 1995 is mentioned.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

