2017 Games I’m Looking Forward to Most 

Horizon Zero Dawn
Developer: Guerrilla Games
Release: Feb 28, 2017
Platforms: PS4 Exclusive
Modes: Single-Player
Genre: Action Role-playing

whceclofekiiy

A lot of hype surrounds this new Playstation exclusive, and I’m ALL-IN on it. I’d love to know whether making Aloy a redhead/Ginger was surrounded with discussion and developer controversy. Unlike Eric Cartman from South Park, I believe some Gingers do have souls. Unless you’re a robot wildebeest, getting an arrow to lung, you’d think otherwise.

I also like how it’s solely a single-player game. This means that all the effort and hard work was spent on the narrative and gameplay. That’s everything to me.

Horizon Zero Dawn is a third-person action role-playing game.The story follows Aloy a hunter and expert archer, who lives amongst robotic creatures referred to as machines, in a post-apocalyptic world.

I’m getting a little Tomb Raider and some Far Cry Primal vibes from the gameplay I’ve seen so far. Fast Travel from campfires as seen in both games mentioned. Discovering new tribes and trying to live off the land.

The introduction to a dialogue-wheel peaks my interest. We all know I’m a huge TellTale guy and love controlling the individual interactions between characters.

Ghost Recon: Wildlands
Developer(s): Ubisoft Paris, Ubisoft Annecy, Ubisoft Bucharest, Ubisoft Montpellier, Ubisoft Milan, Ubisoft Reflections
Release: March 7, 2017
Platforms: Microsoft Windows, PS4, Xbox One
Modes: Single-player, Multi-player
Genre: Tactical Shooter

fbv1zljx13gdq

Ghost Recon: Wildlands is an open world third-person tactical shooter, following an elite unit of Army Special Operations soldiers (mirror of Delta Force) known as “the Ghosts”, who are tasked with recovering a kidnapped DEA agent from the thriving and violent Santa Blanca Drug Cartel in Bolivia. Set in 2019, the Ghosts first make contact with a CIA agent on the ground to give them the Operational info to conduct operations and raids to cripple the Santa Blanca’s current status.

This is one of the games that when I first saw the release trailer from E3 in 2015? and I lost my shit. This is exactly the type of game I goo over. From the GIF, apparently the customization of individual characters is broad.

Hopes: We learn about each individual Ghost, their back stories, issues/problems. The gameplay isn’t repetitive–attacking outposts just to take over the area, instead of being of strategic value for the player and others in the area. Teammates (AI) shoot accurately, and not blindly, I’ve written in depth about this before.

I hope the narrative is compelling. From the plot we’ve seen so far, it is. I hope it’s not Hollywood storytelling. I want an experience similar to what we got with Red Dead Redemption but instead of outlaw cowboys and bandits, we have badass commandos and devilish drug cartels. Hopefully Ubisoft executes all our hopes and needs.

Yooka-Laylee
Developer: Playtonic Games
Release: Aprill 11, 2017
Platforms: Linux, macOS, Microsoft Windows, Nintendo Switch, PS4, Xbox One
Modes: Single-player, Multi-player
Genre: Platform

mwphad6alhzgm

Yooka-Laylee gets compared to its predecessor Banjo-Kazooie where the player controls two characters simultaneously while obtaining collectables in the 3D world. Yooka is a male chameleon who is wise and calculated, while his companion Laylee, a female bat, is more careless and risk taking.

This is a game I’m particularly excited for because I didn’t play Banjo-Kazooie growing up and I’m thrilled to share a similar experience that Banjo Kazooie fans loved.

Crash Bandicoot N’ Sane Trilogy
Developer: Vicarious Visions
Release: Official – 2017 – Rumors: As early as Feb 28 – June 30
Platforms: PS4 Exclusive

Modes: Single-player
Genre: Platform

dxgimkkjjhjrk

Crash Bandicoot is my favorite series of all-time. I adored these games, like Spyro The Dragon, the first 3 games were the best, everything else after couldn’t match the thrill and excitement. I am PUMPED that we are getting all 3 games instead of just 1, like Ratchet & Clank.

I was amped to see Crash featured in Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, I’m constantly searching for news and leaks, though these leaks are often unfounded and unreliable. I just want a confirmed release date instead of the unknown. I’d rather it be sooner than later.

Detroit: Become Human
Developer: Quantic Dream

Release: 2017 – unconfirmed official date at this time
Platforms: PS4 Exclusive 
Modes: Single-player
Genre: Action-adventure

I love games that focus on choice and consequence. That’s part of the reason why I loved Life is Strange so much. Until Dawn did it with the Butterfly Effect concept. Choose the wrong option and bad things will happen to your character or another person in the game.

I like having the ability to control my own gaming experience. Detroit: Become Human is unlike any concept I’ve seen before in terms of applying the game design with a compelling action-adventure narrative.

Quantic Dreams also developed the incredibly popular Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls. Both unique in there own aspects. Detroit: Become Human is similar to Heavy Rain because there are multiple characters to be controlled throughout the game. So far we’ve been introduced to Connor. Here is Kara:

Other games that I’m interested in seeing more gameplay of:

HellBlade: Senua’s Sacrifice – 2017 – PS4 Exclusive
Guardians of the Galaxy TellTale Series – 2017 – PS4, Xbox One
Little Nightmares – April 28, 2017 – Microsoft Windows, PS4, Xbox One – Puzzle-Platformer – Single-player
Spider-man – PS4 – 2017/2018

Games confirmed for 2018:

Cyberpunk 2077 – 2018
Red Dead Redemption 2 – 2018
Days Gone – 2018
The Last of US Part II – 2018

Discussion 

  • What games are you excited for the most in 2017?
  • What games are you currently playing in 2017?
  • If you had to recommend one of them, which game would you choose?
  • Are you disappointed that some iconic games being released are only for one platform rather than all, like Horizon Zero Dawn and Become Human?

Social Media:

Twitter: @TheAlbumWeb
Instagram: @thealbumweb

 

 

14 thoughts on “2017 Games I’m Looking Forward to Most 

  1. Awesome review! I am so excited that I was able to read your post on upcoming games because I had nooooo idea about Yooka and Laylee!!! I loveeee Banjo Kazooie and I need a game that’s more fun than anything. This game looks promising.

    I too am excited about Wildlands. Because I had no interest in the newest Call of Duty game that released, I am missing having a shooter (other than Gears of War 4) so Wildlands is what my friends and I are looking towards. Thank you and have a great week!
    -Luna 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words! I also had no interest in the new CoD but bought it because of the Remaster, not my best decision, but still fun. Because I have a PS4, I can’t play Gears of War 4, I used to play Gears on my 360 but I’ve moved back over to the Dark Side. I like Playstation better now because of it’s exclusives. Hope your week is great as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list. I’m looking forward to all of these except maybe Detroit (I didn’t care much for Beyond myself, but I will still probably give Detroit a rent). Uncharted: The Lost Legacy and The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild top my list with Horizon close behind. This looks like a really great year for games.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

