img_3741
If my laptop wasn’t having a heart attack every 10 seconds while my letter T on the keyboard keeps falling off than I can get to what I’ve been reading. Instead I am raging over the old man of a computer that is failing me right now.


National Geographic – Wonders of the World: Earth’s most awesome places


There are few things I love more than nature – what’s greater than learning new facts about animals, Earth, and space? I’m still in awe at the fact that humans have only explored 2% of the oceans. 2-FUCKING-percent! That’s like pulling into the driveway of a mansion, then being like well, there’s lava everywhere and we don’t possess the technology yet to get out of the car and walk to the front door. I want to know what’s inside the mansion, dammit!

Planet Earth II premiered Saturday in the US. I know it’s been available for months in the UK and Europe and I may or may not of tried to access this in every way I could early, but failed terribly, allegedly. Well now it’s finally here and I’m losing my mind over it. People always say if you had 3 wishes what would you ask for?

1. Give me Eliza Thornberry powers, “ability to talk to animals”. 2. Make me the next Indiana Jones with similar swagger, confidence, and undeniable manliness that will never be matched again. 3. Hold my breath/see underwater and allow me to travel the deep dark oceans without my body combusting from the pressure. Okay, that last one is still up in the air because I just thought of it, the first two are sealed.

Natural Born Heroes – How a Daring Band of Misfits Mastered the Lost Secrets of Strength and Endurance by Christopher McDougall

img_3743

This is a book I picked up over the summer but haven’t got around to reading it because of the endless other mediums of entertainment and knowledge available to us these days – Podcasts, Netflix, TV Series, Movies, Videogames, Music – how do people read books anymore? Have to make some sacrifices I suppose.

Book’s Blurb:

After running an ultramarathon through the Copper Canyons of Mexico, Christopher McDougall finds his next great adventure on the razor-sharp mountains of Crete, where a band of Resistance fighters in World War II plotted a daring abduction of a German general from the heart of the Nazi occupation. How did a penniless artist, a young shepherd, and a playboy poet believe they could carry out such a remarkable feat of strength and endurance, smuggling the general past thousands of Nazi pursuers, with little more than their own wits and courage to guide them?

This book has been one of the recommended books to read among many influential people. I haven’t jumped in entirely at this point, but I know for a FACT that it has to do with mindset. Interested to see if my prediction plays a large role into the successes of these average badasses, which allowed them to be above average heroes.

Game Informer

img_3744

Game Informer is one of the premier video game websites and every month they mail a physical copy of their monthly magazine. February’s copy in 2017 shows the game The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild at its cover and main featured story. Zelda is one of the most iconic franchises in gaming history and will make it’s debut on the new Nintendo Switch platform.

Ghost Recon Wildlands open beta can be played from Feb 22-27th. Make sure to download and play sometime to see if the game will be for you or not come it’s release on March 3rd. It’s FREE so why not, right?

Friday the 24th, Horizon Zero Dawn released as a PS4 exclusive. One of the few games that actually responds positively to all the previous hype that surrounded it. I will buy this title and plan to kick serious machine ass with Aloy.

BADASS – A relentless onslaught of the toughest Warlords, Vikings, Samurai, Pirates, Gunfighters, and Military Commanders to ever live

img_3742

Author’s Blurb:

An unstoppable collection of the most hardcore figures who ever strapped on chain mail and ran screaming into battle. Throughout history—from the bone-crushing age of antiquity to the sack-tearing modern era—there have been larger-than-life ass-kickers with a natural talent for unleashing their epic bloodlust on anyone who crossed them. They built empires, smashed armies, and ravaged civilizations for wealth, glory, and ultimate supremacy. Sometimes villains, sometimes heroes, sometimes criminally insane, they had one thing in common: They were all…BADASS!

I’m ready to run through a brick wall after reading that. I’m fired up! This is the perfect book for me. I folded after reading Badass of the Week every morning and bought Ben Thompson’s two books in the BADASS series (BADASS & BADASS: Ultimate Deathmatch). It’s legendary.

 

Here are some BADASSES featured:

Chandragupta Maurya – An indian warlord who commanded an army of drunken war elephants and employed an elite detachment of highly trained female bodyguards.

Peter Francisco – An unsung hero of the American Revolution. This powerful giant battled the British with a massive fight-foot-long broadsword.

Wolf of Quarrelsome – A mysterious barbarian leader who only appears in history twice-and both times he’s kicking someone’s ass.

Bhanbhagta Gurung – A fearless Gurkha who won the Victoria Cross by clearing out six Japanese foxholes with nothing more than grenades, a bayonet, and a knife.

From Alexander The Great to George S. Patton, from Genghis Khan to Bruce Lee. this pantheon of ass-kicking awesomeness should inspire you to quit your stupid job and dive headfirst into a new career as a professional badass. 

Can’t recommend Ben Thompson’s books enough. I wish I found out about him sooner. Someone kick the new “Most Interesting Man in the World” in the cajones and give the crown to Thompson immediately.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

