Misconceptions for Motivation in Fitness

I guess this is what writers would call a reaction post to an article that was recently shared on Business Insider called 3 things to tell yourself if you’re struggling to get to the gymI actually thought it was a parody article at first, but I concluded it was the author’s way of trying to connect with her readers. And it works very well, up to the point where the three mantras suggested provided no solution or insight to the problem.

At first I was going to breakdown the errors in logic of the 3 points suggested, but I decided to add reasoning to why some people have “motivation” and why others don’t. Here are the 3 solutions that the author suggests:

  1.  ‘If I do this now, I won’t have to do it later’
  2. ‘This is the worst, but I’m gonna do it anyway’
  3. Motivation Sold Separately – use this mantra to remind yourself motivation is a bonus, not a requisite. 

So the author is saying that working out sucks and it’s going to continue to suck

giphy

Being strong, looking good, and living a healthy lifestyle isn’t easy. It takes discipline, consistency blah blah blah you’ve heard it all for a reason. Now the tens of people who are reading this are thinking a few things in response to those mantras:

  • Why would I want to do something that sucks?
  • If I have no motivation, why would I go?
  • How do those three things help me at all?

And before I dive into this rabbit hole far deeper than I probably should, I must say I’m not a professional, nutritionist, SME, coach, ninja, cloud walker, underwater bartender, or any other Master of the Human Arts in terms of fitness. I’m just a dude who reads too much on the Internet, trains a lot, and calls out things I’ve learned to be BS through experience and guidance from those who know what they are talking about. Why should you listen to what I have to say? You shouldn’t, QUESTION EVERYTHING. But if you’re still reading, here is a solution that is simple to process, hard to implement.

1. What is my purpose?

It’s the easiest and simplest question we all ask ourselves before starting something. Your first thought will be the most honest, and the thoughts that follow will be your mind providing excuses to your lack of action.

An excerpt about motivation from the author: “Get it out of your head that you should feel motivated to go to the gym. If you focus your energy on finding your motivation, you’re running a fool’s errand. If you wait to be motivated, you might be waiting forever.”

That’s bullshit. Motivation or what is perceived to be motivation, is bullshit. Purpose fuels “motivation” or the drive to action. Ask yourself, what is my “why” for doing this.

Why are we training? Why are we exercising in the first place?

Is it for a marathon so we are racking up the miles through the trails? Or are we banging weights in the gym to prepare for hockey season? Are we swimming in the pool because we want to learn to surf and need to strengthen those muscles? Exercising to stay healthy or lose weight?

We don’t get motivated to exercise. That’s the key. We get motivated by a goal which will only be accomplished if we exercise and train (learning to surf, marathon, and more). When we establish goals to hit, you’ll want and crave to meet those standards. There is no Secret Stuff like in Space Jam.

Screen Shot 2017-08-07 at 9.15.06 AM.png
Source: Space Jam (1996)

It’s up to YOU to find your “why” and pursue your goals. The drive and motivation will come after that. It’s important to understand where our motivation comes from. Instead of saying that it’s a fools errand and you’ll never find it. Figure out your “why” and improve yourself one day at a time.

If you like my post tell somebody about my blog. If you think I should do more fitness-type articles let me know in the comments or on Twitter @TheAlbumWeb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Misconceptions for Motivation in Fitness

  1. It’s true, most of the time when I want to do any sort of exercise I just think I’m going to spend the next 10-30 minutes in pain, but I’m also aware that our bodies are going to go against us once we reach a certain age and doing a few stretches or a run will pay off better than doing nothing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being strong and in shape has no negative implications, it only helps you. I also like doing alternative forms of exercise like paddle boarding for example. Changes up the monotony of things and its a hell of a lot of fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

